Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0368. அவாஇல்லார்க் கில்லாகுந் துன்பம்

0368. Avaaillaark Killaagund Thunbam

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    துறவறவியல் (Thuravaraviyal) - Ascetic Virtue
  • அதிகாரம்
    அவா அறுத்தல் (Avaa Aruththal)
    The Extirpation of Desire
  • குறள்
    அவாஇல்லார்க் கில்லாகுந் துன்பம் அஃதுண்டேல்
    தவாஅது மேன்மேல் வரும்.
  • விளக்கம்
    அவா இல்லாதவர்க்குத் துன்பங்கள் இல்லை; அவா ஒன்று மட்டும் இருந்தால் எல்லாத் துன்பங்களும் முடிவில்லாமல் மேன்மேலும் வரும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Affliction is not known where no desires abide;
    Where these are, endless rises sorrow's tide.
  • Meaning
    There is no sorrow to those who are without desire; but where that is, (sorrow) will incessantly come, more and more.


Post a Comment