Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0356. கற்றீண்டு மெய்ப்பொருள் கண்டார்

0356. Katreendu Meipporul Kandaar

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    துறவறவியல் (Thuravaraviyal) - Ascetic Virtue
  • அதிகாரம்
    மெய்யுணர்தல் (Meiunarthal)
    Knowledge of the True
  • குறள்
    கற்றீண்டு மெய்ப்பொருள் கண்டார் தலைப்படுவர்
    மற்றீண்டு வாரா நெறி.
  • விளக்கம்
    இப்பிறப்பில் குருவின் மூலமாகக் கேட்டறிந்து மெய்யறிவைப் பெற்றவர், மீண்டும் பிறவி எடுக்காத பெருநெறியை அடைவர்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Who learn, and here the knowledge of the true obtain,
    Shall find the path that hither cometh not again.
  • Meaning
    They, who in this birth have learned to know the True Being, enter the road which returns not into this world.


Post a Comment