Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0357. ஓர்த்துள்ளம் உள்ளது உணரின்

0357. Oorththullam Ullathu Unarin

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    துறவறவியல் (Thuravaraviyal) - Ascetic Virtue
  • அதிகாரம்
    மெய்யுணர்தல் (Meiunarthal)
    Knowledge of the True
  • குறள்
    ஓர்த்துள்ளம் உள்ளது உணரின் ஒருதலையாப்
    பேர்த்துள்ள வேண்டா பிறப்பு.
  • விளக்கம்
    ஒருவனது உள்ளம், உண்மைப் பொருளைச் சிந்தித்து அறிந்தால், அவனுக்கு மீண்டும் பிறவி உள்ளதாக நினைக்க வேண்டா.
  • Translation
    in English
    The mind that knows with certitude what is, and ponders well,
    Its thoughts on birth again to other life need not to dwell.
  • Meaning
    Let it not be thought that there is another birth for him whose mind having thoroughly considered (all it has been taught) has known the True Being.


Post a Comment