Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0307. சினத்தைப் பொருளென்று கொண்டவன்

0307. Sinaththaip Porulendru Kondavan

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    துறவறவியல் (Thuravaraviyal) - Ascetic Virtue
  • அதிகாரம்
    The Not Being Angry
  • குறள்
    சினத்தைப் பொருளென்று கொண்டவன் கேடு
    நிலத்தறைந்தான் கைபிழையா தற்று.
  • விளக்கம்
    தனது வலிமையைக் காட்டுவதற்குச் சினத்தைக் கருவியாகக் கொண்டவன் அவ்வலிமையை இழத்தல், கையை நிலத்தில் அறைந்தவன் துன்பம் அடைதல் தவறாதது போன்றதாகும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    The hand that smites the earth unfailing feels the sting;
    So perish they who nurse their wrath as noble thing.
  • Meaning
    Destruction will come upon him who ragards anger as a good thing, as surely as the hand of him who strikes the ground will not fail.


Post a Comment