Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0306. சினமென்னும் சேர்ந்தாரைக் கொல்லி

0306. Sinamennum Serndhaaraik Kolli

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    துறவறவியல் (Thuravaraviyal) - Ascetic Virtue
  • அதிகாரம்
    The Not Being Angry
  • குறள்
    சினமென்னும் சேர்ந்தாரைக் கொல்லி இனமென்னும்
    ஏமப் புணையைச் சுடும்.
  • விளக்கம்
    சினம் என்னும் சேர்ந்தவரைக் கொல்லும் நெருப்பு, சினம் கொண்டவனை மட்டுமல்லாமல் அவனுக்கு இனம் என்ற தெப்பத்தையும் சுடும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Wrath, the fire that slayeth whose draweth near,
    Will burn the helpful 'raft' of kindred dear.
  • Meaning
    The fire of anger will burn up even the pleasant raft of friendship.


Post a Comment