Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0291. வாய்மை எனப்படுவது யாதெனின்

0291. Vaaimai Enappaduvathu Yaathenin

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    துறவறவியல் (Thuravaraviyal) - Ascetic Virtue
  • அதிகாரம்
  • குறள்
    வாய்மை எனப்படுவது யாதெனின் யாதொன்றும்
    தீமை இலாத சொலல்.
  • விளக்கம்
    உண்மை என்று சிறப்பித்துச் சொல்லப்படுவது எது என்றால் எந்த உயிர்க்கும் யாதொரு சிறு தீங்கும் செய்யாத சொற்களைச் சொல்லுதலேயாகும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    You ask, in lips of men what 'truth' may be;
    'Tis speech from every taint of evil free.
  • Meaning
    Truth is the speaking of such words as are free from the least degree of evil (to others).


Post a Comment