Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0290. கள்வார்க்குத் தள்ளும் உயிர்நிலை

0290. Kalvaarkkuth Thallum Uyirnilai

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    துறவறவியல் (Thuravaraviyal) - Ascetic Virtue
  • அதிகாரம்
    The Absence of Fraud
  • குறள்
    கள்வார்க்குத் தள்ளும் உயிர்நிலை கள்வார்க்குத்
    தள்ளாது புத்தே ளுளகு.
  • விளக்கம்
    களவிலே பழகியவர்க்கு உடம்பும் தவறிப் போகும். களவிலே பழகாதவர்குத் தேவருலகும் தவறாது கிடைக்கும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    The fraudful forfeit life and being here below;
    Who fraud eschew the bliss of heavenly beings know.
  • Meaning
    Even their body will fail the fraudulent; but even the world of the gods will not fail those who are free from fraud.


Post a Comment