Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0230. சாதலின் இன்னாத தில்லை

0230. Saathalin Innaatha Thillai

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    இல்லறவியல் (Illaraviyal) - Domestic Virtue
  • அதிகாரம்
    ஈகை (Eegai)
  • குறள்
    சாதலின் இன்னாத தில்லை இனிததூஉம்
    ஈதல் இயையாக் கடை.
  • விளக்கம்
    சாவதைப் போலத் துன்பம் தருவது வேறொன்றில்லை; வறியவர்க்கு ஒன்று கொடுக்க முடியாத இடத்தில் சாவதும் இனியதாகும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    'Tis bitter pain to die, 'Tis worse to live.
    For him who nothing finds to give!
  • Meaning
    Nothing is more unpleasant than death: yet even that is pleasant where charity cannot be exercised.


Post a Comment