Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0202. தீயவை தீய பயத்தலால்

0202. Theeyavai Theeya Payaththalaal

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    இல்லறவியல் (Illaraviyal) - Domestic Virtue
  • அதிகாரம்
    தீவினையச்சம் (Theevinaiyachcham)
    Dread of Devil Deeds
  • குறள்
    தீயவை தீய பயத்தலால் தீயவை
    தீயினும் அஞ்சப் படும்.
  • விளக்கம்
    தீய செயல்கள், தம்மைச் செய்தவனுக்குத் துன்பம் தருதலால், அவை தீயை விட அதிகமாக அஞ்சத் தக்கவையாகும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Since evils new from evils ever grow,
    Evil than fire works out more dreaded woe.
  • Meaning
    Because evil produces evil, therefore should evil be feared more than fire.


Post a Comment