Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0203. அறிவினுள் எல்லாந் தலையென்ப

0203. Arivinul Ellaandh Thalaiyenba

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    இல்லறவியல் (Illaraviyal) - Domestic Virtue
  • அதிகாரம்
    தீவினையச்சம் (Theevinaiyachcham)
    Dread of Devil Deeds
  • குறள்
    அறிவினுள் எல்லாந் தலையென்ப தீய
    செறுவார்க்கும் செய்யா விடல்.
  • விளக்கம்
    தமக்குத் துன்பம் செய்பவருக்கும் தீமை செய்யாது விடுதல், அறிவுகள் எல்லாவற்றுள்ளும் சிறந்தது என்று அறிவுடையார் கூறுவார்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Even to those that hate make no return of ill;
    So shalt thou wisdom's highest law, 'tis said, fulfil.
  • Meaning
    To do no evil to enemies will be called the chief of all virtues.


Post a Comment