Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1255. செற்றார்பின் செல்லாப் பெருந்தகைமை

1255. Setraarpin Sellaap Perundhagaimai

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    இன்பத்துப்பால் (Inbaththuppaal) - Love
  • இயல்
    கற்பியல் (Karpiyal) - The Post-Marital Love
  • அதிகாரம்
    நிறையழிதல் (Niraiyazhithal)
    Reserve Overcome
  • குறள்
    செற்றார்பின் செல்லாப் பெருந்தகைமை காமநோய்
    உற்றார் அறிவதொன்று அன்று.
  • விளக்கம்
    பிரிந்தவர் பின்னே செல்லாது நிற்கும் பெருந்தன்மை, காதல் நோய் அடைந்தவரால் அறியப்படுவதொன்று அன்று.
  • Translation
    in English
    The dignity that seeks not him who acts as foe,
    Is the one thing that loving heart can never know.
  • Meaning
    The dignity that would not go after an absent lover is not known to those who are sticken by love.


Post a Comment