Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1217. நனவினால் நல்காக் கொடியார்

1217. Nanavinaal Nalkaak Kodiyaar

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    இன்பத்துப்பால் (Inbaththuppaal) - Love
  • இயல்
    கற்பியல் (Karpiyal) - The Post-Marital Love
  • அதிகாரம்
    கனவுநிலை உரைத்தல் (Kanavunilai Uraiththal)
    The Visions of the Night
  • குறள்
    நனவினால் நல்காக் கொடியார் கனவனால்
    என்எம்மைப் பீழிப் பது.
  • விளக்கம்
    நனவில் வந்து அருள் செய்யாத கொடியவர், கனவில் வந்து என்னை வருத்துவது எதற்காக?
  • Translation
    in English
    The cruel one, in waking hour, who all ungracious seems,
    Why should he thus torment my soul in nightly dreams?
  • Meaning
    The cruel one who would not favour me in my wakefulness, what right has he to torture me in my dreams?


Post a Comment