Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1112. மலர்காணின் மையாத்தி நெஞ்சே

1112. Malarkaanin Maiyaaththi Nenje

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    இன்பத்துப்பால் (Inbaththuppaal) - Love
  • இயல்
    களவியல் (Kalaviyal) - The Pre-Marital Love
  • அதிகாரம்
    நலம் புனைந்துரைத்தல் (Nalam Punaindhuraiththal)
    The Praise of her Beauty
  • குறள்
    மலர்காணின் மையாத்தி நெஞ்சே இவள்கண்
    பலர்காணும் பூவொக்கும் என்று.
  • விளக்கம்
    மனமே! இவளது கண்கள் பலராலும் காணப்படுகின்ற பூக்கள் ஒக்கும் என்று நினைத்து, மலர்களைக் கண்டால் மயங்குகின்றாய்.
  • Translation
    in English
    You deemed, as you saw the flowers, her eyes were as flowers, my soul,
    That many may see; it was surely some folly that over you stole!
  • Meaning
    O my soul, fancying that flowers which are seen by many can resemble her eyes, you become confused at the sight of them.


Post a Comment