Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0999. நகல்வல்லர் அல்லார்க்கு மாயிரு

0999. Nagalvallar Allaarkku Maayiru

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    குடியியல் (Kudiyiyal) - Miscellaneous
  • அதிகாரம்
    பண்புடைமை (Panbudaimai)
  • குறள்
    நகல்வல்லர் அல்லார்க்கு மாயிரு ஞாலம்
    பகலும்பாற் பட்டன்று இருள்.
  • விளக்கம்
    மற்றவரோடு அளவளாவி மனத்தில் மகிழ்கின்ற குணம் இல்லாதவர்க்கு, மிகப்பெரிய உலகம் பகற்காலத்திலும் இருளில் கிடப்பது போல் தோன்றும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    To him who knows not how to smile in kindly mirth,
    Darkness in daytime broods o'er all the vast and mighty earth.
  • Meaning
    To those who cannot rejoice, the wide world is buried darkness even in (broad) day light.


Post a Comment