Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0880. உயிர்ப்ப உளரல்லர் மன்ற

0880. Uyirppa Ularallar Mandra

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    நட்பியல் (Natpiyal) - Alliance
  • அதிகாரம்
    பகைத்திறம் தெரிதல் (Pagaiththiram Therithal)
    Knowing the Quality of Hate
  • குறள்
    உயிர்ப்ப உளரல்லர் மன்ற செயிர்ப்பவர்
    செம்மல் சிதைக்கலா தார்.
  • விளக்கம்
    பகைவரின் செருக்கை அழிக்கமுடியாத அரசர் மூச்சுவிடுகின்ற அளவிற்கும் உயிரோடிருப்பவராகார்; இது உறுதி.
  • Translation
    in English
    But breathe upon them, and they surely die,
    Who fail to tame the pride of angry enemy.
  • Meaning
    Those who do not destroy the pride of those who hate (them) will certainly not exist even to breathe.


Post a Comment