Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0877. நோவற்க நொந்தது அறியார்க்கு

0877. Novarka Nonthathu Ariyaarkku

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    நட்பியல் (Natpiyal) - Alliance
  • அதிகாரம்
    பகைத்திறம் தெரிதல் (Pagaiththiram Therithal)
    Knowing the Quality of Hate
  • குறள்
    நோவற்க நொந்தது அறியார்க்கு மேவற்க
    மென்மை பகைவர் அகத்து.
  • விளக்கம்
    தன்னுடைய வருத்தத்தை அறியாத ஒருவரிடம் தன் வருத்தத்தைச் சொல்லாதிருத்தல் வேண்டும்; அவ்வாறே தன் வலிமையின் குறைவைப் பகைவரிடம் காட்டாதிருத்தல் வேண்டும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    To those who know them not, complain not of your woes;
    Nor to your foeman's eyes infirmities disclose.
  • Meaning
    Relate not your suffering even to friends who are ignorant of it, nor refer to your weakness in the presence of your foes.


Post a Comment