Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0786. முகநக நட்பது நட்பன்று

0786. Muganaga Natpathu Natpandru

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    நட்பியல் (Natpiyal) - Alliance
  • அதிகாரம்
    நட்பு (Natpu)
  • குறள்
    முகநக நட்பது நட்பன்று நெஞ்சத்து
    அகநக நட்பது நட்பு.
  • விளக்கம்
    ஒருவருடன் முகம் மட்டும் மலரும் வகையில் நட்புக் கொள்வது நட்பன்று; அன்பால் மனமும் மலர நட்புக் கொள்வதே நட்பாகும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Not the face's smile of welcome shows the friend sincere,
    But the heart's rejoicing gladness when the friend is near.
  • Meaning
    The love that dwells (merely in the smiles of the face is not friendship; (but) that which dwells deep in the smiles of the heart is true friendship.


Post a Comment