Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0607. இடிபுரிந்து எள்ளுஞ்சொல் கேட்பர்

0607. Idipurindhu Ellunjchol Ketpar

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    மடி இன்மை (Madi Inmai)
  • குறள்
    இடிபுரிந்து எள்ளுஞ்சொல் கேட்பர் மடிபுரிந்து
    மாண்ட உஞற்றி லவர்.
  • விளக்கம்
    சோம்பலை விரும்பிச் சிறந்த முயற்சியை மேற்கொள்ளாதவர், தம்மைப் பிறர் கடிந்தும், இகழ்ந்தும் கூறும் சொற்களைக் கேட்பர்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Who hug their sloth, nor noble works attempt,
    Shall bear reproofs and words of just contempt.
  • Meaning
    Those who through idleness, and do not engage themselves in dignified exertion, will subject themselves to rebukes and reproaches.


Post a Comment