Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0597. சிதைவிடத்து ஒல்கார் உரவோர்

0597. Sithaividaththu Olkaar Uravor

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    ஊக்கம் உடைமை (Ookkam Udaimai)
  • குறள்
    சிதைவிடத்து ஒல்கார் உரவோர் புதையம்பிற்
    பட்டுப்பா டூன்றுங் களிறு.
  • விளக்கம்
    உடலை மறைக்கும் அளவுக்கு அம்புகள் தைக்கப் பெற்றாலும் யானை தளராமல் தன் பெருமையை நிலை நிறுத்தும். அதுபோல் மன எழுச்சியுடையவர் அழிவு வந்தவிடத்தும் தளராமல் தம் பெருமையை நிலை நிறுத்துவர்.
  • Translation
    in English
    The men of lofty mind quail not in ruin's fateful hour,
    The elephant retains his dignity mind arrows' deadly shower.
  • Meaning
    The strong minded will not faint, even when all is lost; the elephant stands firm, even when wounded by a shower of arrows.


Post a Comment