Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0581. ஒற்றும் உரைசான்ற நூலும்

0581. Otrum Uraisaandra Noolum

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    ஒற்றாடல் (Otraadal)
  • குறள்
    ஒற்றும் உரைசான்ற நூலும் இவையிரண்டும்
    தெற்றென்க மன்னவன் கண்.
  • விளக்கம்
    ஒற்றனையும், புகழ்மிக்க அரசியல் நூலையும் தன் இரண்டு கண்களாக அரசன் தெரிந்து கொள்ள வேண்டும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    These two: the code renowned and spies,
    In these let king confide as eyes.
  • Meaning
    Let a king consider as his eyes these two things, a spy and a book (of laws) universally esteemed.


Post a Comment