Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0439. வியவற்க எஞ்ஞான்றும் தன்னை

0439. Viyavarka Enjaandrum Thannai

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    குற்றங்கடிதல் (Kutrankadithal)
    The Correction of Faults
  • குறள்
    வியவற்க எஞ்ஞான்றும் தன்னை நயவற்க
    நன்றி பயவா வினை.
  • விளக்கம்
    எக்காலத்தும் தன்னை மதித்து வியப்படையக் கூடாது. நன்மை தராத செயலை விரும்பவும் கூடாது.
  • Translation
    in English
    Never indulge in self-complaisant mood,
    Nor deed desire that yields no gain of good.
  • Meaning
    Let no (one) praise himself, at any time; let him not desire to do useless things.


Post a Comment