Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0436. தன்குற்றம் நீக்கிப் பிறர்குற்றங்

0436. Thankutram Neekkip Pirarkutrang

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    குற்றங்கடிதல் (Kutrankadithal)
    The Correction of Faults
  • குறள்
    தன்குற்றம் நீக்கிப் பிறர்குற்றங் காண்கிற்பின்
    என்குற்ற மாகும் இறைக்கு.
  • விளக்கம்
    தன் குற்றத்தை முதலில் போக்கிப் பிறகு பிறரது குற்றத்தைக் கண்டு ஆராய்வானானால், மன்னனுக்கு யாதொரு குற்றமும் உண்டாகாது.
  • Translation
    in English
    Faultless the king who first his own faults cures, and then
    Permits himself to scan faults of other men.
  • Meaning
    What fault will remain in the king who has put away his own evils, and looks after the evils of others.


Post a Comment