Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0392. எண்ணென்ப ஏனை எழுத்தென்ப

0392. Ennenba Yenai Ezhththenba

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    கல்வி (Kalvi)
  • குறள்
    எண்ணென்ப ஏனை எழுத்தென்ப இவ்விரண்டும்
    கண்ணென்ப வாழும் உயிர்க்கு.
  • விளக்கம்
    எண்ணென்று சொல்லப்படுவனவும், எழுத்தென்று சொல்லப்படுவனவுமாகிய இவ்விரண்டினையும், அறிவுடையோர் மக்களுக்குக் கண் என்று கூறுவர்.
  • Translation
    in English
    The twain that lore of numbers and of letters give
    Are eyes, the wise declare, to all on earth that live.
  • Meaning
    Letters and numbers are the two eyes of man.


Post a Comment