Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0337. ஒருபொழுதும் வாழ்வது அறியார்

0337. Orupozhuthum Vaazhvathu Ariyaar

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    துறவறவியல் (Thuravaraviyal) - Ascetic Virtue
  • அதிகாரம்
  • குறள்
    ஒருபொழுதும் வாழ்வது அறியார் கருதுப
    கோடியும் அல்ல பல.
  • விளக்கம்
    'அடுத்த நொடியில் நாம் வாழ்வோமா' என்பதனை அறிய மாட்டாதவர்கள், கோடிக்கு மேற்பட்ட பலவகை நினைவுகளை நினைப்பார்கள்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Who know not if their happy lives shall last the day,
    In fancies infinite beguile the hours away!
  • Meaning
    Innumerable are the thoughts which occupy the mind of (the unwise), who know not that they shall live another moment.


Post a Comment