Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0260. கொல்லான் புலாலை மறுத்தானைக்

0260. Kollaan Pulaalai Maruththaanaik

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    துறவறவியல் (Thuravaraviyal) - Ascetic Virtue
  • அதிகாரம்
    புலால் மறுத்தல்(Pulaal Maruththal)
    The Renunciation of Flesh
  • குறள்
    கொல்லான் புலாலை மறுத்தானைக் கைகூப்பி
    எல்லா உயிருந் தொழும்.
  • விளக்கம்
    உயிரைக் கொல்லாதவனாகவும், ஊனை உன்னதவனாகவும் உள்ளவனை எல்லா உயிர்களும் கைகுவித்து வணங்கும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Who slays nought,- flesh rejects- his feet before
    All living things with clasped hands adore.
  • Meaning
    All creatures will join their hands together, and worship him who has never taken away life, nor eaten flesh.


Post a Comment