Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0252. பொருளாட்சி போற்றாதார்க்கு இல்லை

0252. Porulaatchi Potraathaarkku Illai

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    துறவறவியல் (Thuravaraviyal) - Ascetic Virtue
  • அதிகாரம்
    புலால் மறுத்தல்(Pulaal Maruththal)
    The Renunciation of Flesh
  • குறள்
    பொருளாட்சி போற்றாதார்க்கு இல்லை அருளாட்சி
    ஆங்கில்லை ஊன்தின் பவர்க்கு.
  • விளக்கம்
    பொருளால் பயன் பெறுதல் அதனைப் பாது காவாதவர்க் கில்லை; அதுபோல் அருளால் பயன் பெறுதல் புலால் உண்பவர்க்கில்லை.
  • Translation
    in English
    No use of wealth have they who guard not their estate;
    No use of grace have they with flesh who hunger sate.
  • Meaning
    As those possess no property who do not take care of it, so those possess no kindness who feed on flesh.


Post a Comment