Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0247. அருளில்லார்க்கு அவ்வுலகம் இல்லை

0247. Arulillaarkku Avvulagam Illai

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    துறவறவியல் (Thuravaraviyal) - Ascetic Virtue
  • அதிகாரம்
    The Possession of Benevolence
  • குறள்
    அருளில்லார்க்கு அவ்வுலகம் இல்லை பொருளில்லார்க்கு
    இவ்வுலகம் இல்லாகி யாங்கு.
  • விளக்கம்
    பொருளில்லாதவர்களுக்கு இவ்வுலகத்தில் இன்பம் இல்லாதிருப்பது போல, உயிர்களிடத்தில் அருளில்லாதவர்களுக்கு மறுஉலகத்தில் இன்பம் இல்லை.
  • Translation
    in English
    As to impoverished men this present world is not;
    The 'graceless' in you world have neither part nor lot.
  • Meaning
    As this world is not for those who are without wealth, so that world is not for those who are without kindness.


Post a Comment