Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0180. இறலீனும் எண்ணாது வெஃகின்

0180. Iraleenum Ennaathu Vekkin

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    இல்லறவியல் (Illaraviyal) - Domestic Virtue
  • அதிகாரம்
    வெஃகாமை (Vekkaamai)
    Not Coveting
  • குறள்
    இறலீனும் எண்ணாது வெஃகின் விறல்ஈனும்
    வேண்டாமை என்னுஞ் செருக்கு.
  • விளக்கம்
    பின் நிகழ்வதை நினைக்காமல் ஒருவன் பிறனுடைய பொருளை விரும்புவானானால், அதனால் அழிவு உண்டாகும்; பிறன் பொருள் வேண்டா என்று இருக்கும் வீரம் வெற்றியைக் கொடுக்கும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    From thoughtless lust of other's goods springs fatal ill,
    Greatness of soul that covets not shall triumph still.
  • Meaning
    To covet (the wealth of another) regardless of consequences will bring destruction. That greatness (of mind) which covets not will give victory.


Post a Comment