Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0159. துறந்தாரின் தூய்மை உடையர்

0159. Thuranthaarin Thooimai Udaiyar

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    இல்லறவியல் (Illaraviyal) - Domestic Virtue
  • அதிகாரம்
    பொறையுடைமை (Poraiyudaimai)
    The Possession of Patience: Forbearance
  • குறள்
    துறந்தாரின் தூய்மை உடையர் இறந்தார்வாய்
    இன்னாச்சொல் நோற்கிற் பவர்.
  • விளக்கம்
    தீயவர்கள் சொல்லும் வெறுக்கத்தக்க சொற்களைப் பொறுத்துக் கொண்டிருப்பவர், துறவிகளைவிடத் தூய்மையுடையவராவர்.
  • Translation
    in English
    They who transgressors' evil words endure
    With patience, are as stern ascetics pure.
  • Meaning
    Those who bear with the uncourteous speech of the insolent are as pure as the ascetics.


Post a Comment