Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0136. ஒழுக்கத்தின் ஒல்கார் உரவோர்

0136. Ozhukkaththin Olkaar Uravor

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    இல்லறவியல் (Illaraviyal) - Domestic Virtue
  • அதிகாரம்
    ஒழுக்கமுடைமை (Ozhukkamudaimai)
    The Possession of Decorum
  • குறள்
    ஒழுக்கத்தின் ஒல்கார் உரவோர் இழுக்கத்தின்
    ஏதம் படுபாக் கறிந்து.
  • விளக்கம்
    ஒழுக்கம் தவறுவதால் தமக்குக் குற்றம் உண்டாவதை உணர்ந்து, அறிவுடையோர் அவ்வோழுக்கத்திலிருந்து தவற மாட்டார்.
  • Translation
    in English
    The strong of soul no jot abate of 'strict decorum's' laws,
    Knowing that 'due decorum's' breach foulest disgrace will cause.
  • Meaning
    Those firm in mind will not slacken in their observance of the proprieties of life, knowing, as they do, the misery that flows from the transgression from them.


Post a Comment