Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1320. நினைத்திருந்து நோக்கினும் காயும்

1320. Ninaththirundhu Nokkinum Kaayum

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    இன்பத்துப்பால் (Inbaththuppaal) - Love
  • இயல்
    கற்பியல் (Karpiyal) - The Post-Marital Love
  • அதிகாரம்
    புலவி நுணுக்கம் (Pulavi Nunukkam)
    Feigned Anger
  • குறள்
    நினைத்திருந்து நோக்கினும் காயும் அனைத்துநீர்
    யாருள்ளி நோக்கினீர் என்று.
  • விளக்கம்
    தலைவியின் அழகையே நினைத்திருந்து பார்த்தாலும், 'வேறு எப்பெண்களின் உறுப்பு அழகை நினைத்து அவற்றோடு ஒப்பிட்டுப் பார்க்கின்றீர்' என்று சினம் கொள்வாள்.
  • Translation
    in English
    I silent sat, but thought the more, And gazed on her. Then she
    Cried out, 'While thus you eye me o'er, Tell me whose form you see'.
  • Meaning
    Even when I look on her contemplating (her beauty), she is displeased and says, "With whose thought have you (thus) looked on my person?"


Post a Comment