Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1321. இல்லை தவறவர்க்கு ஆயினும்

1321. Illai Thavaravarkku Aayinum

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    இன்பத்துப்பால் (Inbaththuppaal) - Love
  • இயல்
    கற்பியல் (Karpiyal) - The Post-Marital Love
  • அதிகாரம்
    ஊடலுவகை (Oodaloovagai)
    The Pleasure of Temporary Variance
  • குறள்
    இல்லை தவறவர்க்கு ஆயினும் ஊடுதல்
    வல்லது அவர்அள஧க்கு மாறு.
  • விளக்கம்
    தலைவரிடத்தில் குற்றமில்லையாயினும், அவரோடு ஊடுதல் அவர் நம்மீது மிகுந்த அன்பு செலுத்துமாறு செய்ய வல்லது.
  • Translation
    in English
    Although there be no fault in him, the sweetness of his love
    Hath power in me a fretful jealousy to move.
  • Meaning
    Although my husband is free from defects, the way in which he embraces me is such as to make me feign dislike.


Post a Comment