Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1319. தன்னை உணர்த்தினும் காயும்

1319. Thannai Unarththinum Kaayum

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    இன்பத்துப்பால் (Inbaththuppaal) - Love
  • இயல்
    கற்பியல் (Karpiyal) - The Post-Marital Love
  • அதிகாரம்
    புலவி நுணுக்கம் (Pulavi Nunukkam)
    Feigned Anger
  • குறள்
    தன்னை உணர்த்தினும் காயும் பிறர்க்கும்நீர்
    இந்நீரர் ஆகுதிர் என்று.
  • விளக்கம்
    தலைவியின் பிணக்கைத் தீர்த்தாலும், 'பிற பெண்களிடத்தும் இவ்வாறு பிணக்குத் தீர்ப்பீர்' என்று கோபிக்கிறாள்.
  • Translation
    in English
    I then began to soothe and coax, To calm her jealous mind;
    'I see', quoth she, 'to other folks How you are wondrous kind'
  • Meaning
    Even when I try to remove her dislike, she is displeased and says, "This is the way you behave towards (other women)."


Post a Comment