Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1295. பெறாஅமை அஞ்சும் பெறின்பிரிவு

1295. Peraaamai Anjum Perinpirivu

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    இன்பத்துப்பால் (Inbaththuppaal) - Love
  • இயல்
    கற்பியல் (Karpiyal) - The Post-Marital Love
  • அதிகாரம்
    நெஞ்சோடு புலத்தல் (Nenjodu Pulaththal)
    Exploration with Oneself
  • குறள்
    பெறாஅமை அஞ்சும் பெறின்பிரிவு அஞ்சும்
    அறாஅ இடும்பைத்தென் நெஞ்சு.
  • விளக்கம்
    தலைவரைக் காணாதபோது காணவில்லையே என்று எனது மனம் அஞ்சும்; கண்டால் அவரது பிரிவை எண்ணி அஞ்சும். இவ்வாறு என் மனம் நீங்காத துன்பமுடையது.
  • Translation
    in English
    I fear I shall not gain, I fear to lose him when I gain;
    And thus my heart endures unceasing pain.
  • Meaning
    My soul fears when it is without him; it also fears when it is with him; it is subject to incessant sorrow.


Post a Comment