Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1294. இனிஅன்ன நின்னொடு சூழ்வார்யார்

1294. Inianna Ninnodu Soozhvaaryaar

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    இன்பத்துப்பால் (Inbaththuppaal) - Love
  • இயல்
    கற்பியல் (Karpiyal) - The Post-Marital Love
  • அதிகாரம்
    நெஞ்சோடு புலத்தல் (Nenjodu Pulaththal)
    Exploration with Oneself
  • குறள்
    இனிஅன்ன நின்னொடு சூழ்வார்யார் நெஞ்சே
    துனிசெய்து துவ்வாய்காண் மற்று.
  • விளக்கம்
    மனமே! காதலரோடு முதலில் ஊடி, பின் இன்பம் அனுபவிக்கக் கருதாய்; இனி அத்தகைய செயல் பற்றி உன்னோடு கலந்து ஆராய்பவர் யார்?
  • Translation
    in English
    'See, thou first show offended pride, and then submit,' I bade;
    Henceforth such council who will share with thee my heart?
  • Meaning
    O my soul! you would not first seem sulky and then enjoy (him); who then would in future consult you about such things?


Post a Comment