Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1251. காமக் கணிச்சி உடைக்கும்

1251. Kaamak Kanichchi Udaikkum

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    இன்பத்துப்பால் (Inbaththuppaal) - Love
  • இயல்
    கற்பியல் (Karpiyal) - The Post-Marital Love
  • அதிகாரம்
    நிறையழிதல் (Niraiyazhithal)
    Reserve Overcome
  • குறள்
    காமக் கணிச்சி உடைக்கும் நிறையென்னும்
    நாணுத்தாழ் வீழ்த்த கதவு.
  • விளக்கம்
    நாணம் என்னும் தாழ் இடப்பெற்ற மனஅடக்கம் என்னும் கதவை, காதல் என்னும் கோடரி உடைக்கும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Of womanly reserve love's axe breaks through the door,
    Barred by the bolt of shame before.
  • Meaning
    The axe of lust can break the door of chastity which is bolted with the bolt of modesty.


Post a Comment