Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1250. துன்னாத் துறந்தாரை நெஞ்சத்து

1250. Thunnaath Thuranthaarai Nenjaththu

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    இன்பத்துப்பால் (Inbaththuppaal) - Love
  • இயல்
    கற்பியல் (Karpiyal) - The Post-Marital Love
  • அதிகாரம்
    நெஞ்சோடு கிளத்தல் (Nenchodu Kilaththal)
  • குறள்
    துன்னாத் துறந்தாரை நெஞ்சத்து உடையேமா
    இன்னும் இழத்தும் கவின்.
  • விளக்கம்
    கூடாமல் பிரிந்து சென்றவரை மனத்தில் வைத்திருப்போமானால் இன்னும் அழகை இழப்போம்.
  • Translation
    in English
    If I should keep in mind the man who utterly renounces me,
    My soul must suffer further loss of dignity.
  • Meaning
    If I retain in my heart him who has left me without befriending me, I shall lose even the (inward) beauty that remains.


Post a Comment