Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1252. காமம் எனவொன்றோ கண்ணின்றென்

1252. Kaamam Enavendro Kanninren

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    இன்பத்துப்பால் (Inbaththuppaal) - Love
  • இயல்
    கற்பியல் (Karpiyal) - The Post-Marital Love
  • அதிகாரம்
    நிறையழிதல் (Niraiyazhithal)
    Reserve Overcome
  • குறள்
    காமம் எனவொன்றோ கண்ணின்றென் நெஞ்சத்தை
    யாமத்தும் ஆளும் தொழில்.
  • விளக்கம்
    காதல் என்று சொல்லப்பட்ட ஒன்று, இரக்கமில்லாதது; நடு இரவிலும் என் மனத்தைத் துன்பப்படுத்தலாகிய தொழிலை மேற்கொள்ளச் செய்கின்றது.
  • Translation
    in English
    What men call love is the one thing of merciless power;
    It gives my soul no rest, e'en in the midnight hour.
  • Meaning
    Even at midnight is my mind worried by lust, and this one thing, alas! is without mercy.


Post a Comment