Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1249. உள்ளத்தார் காத லவரால்

1249. Ullaththaar Kaatha Lavaraal

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    இன்பத்துப்பால் (Inbaththuppaal) - Love
  • இயல்
    கற்பியல் (Karpiyal) - The Post-Marital Love
  • அதிகாரம்
    நெஞ்சோடு கிளத்தல் (Nenchodu Kilaththal)
  • குறள்
    உள்ளத்தார் காத லவரால் உள்ளிநீ
    யாருழைச் சேறியென் நெஞ்சு.
  • விளக்கம்
    என் மனமே! காதலர் உன்னுள்ளே இருக்க, நீ அவரைத் தேடி எங்கே செல்கின்றாய்?
  • Translation
    in English
    My heart! my lover lives within my mind;
    Roaming, whom dost thou think to find?
  • Meaning
    O my soul! to whom would you repair, while the dear one is within yourself?


Post a Comment