Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1245. செற்றார் எனக்கை விடல்உண்டோ

1245. Setraar Enakkai Vidalundo

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    இன்பத்துப்பால் (Inbaththuppaal) - Love
  • இயல்
    கற்பியல் (Karpiyal) - The Post-Marital Love
  • அதிகாரம்
    நெஞ்சோடு கிளத்தல் (Nenchodu Kilaththal)
  • குறள்
    செற்றார் எனக்கை விடல்உண்டோ நெஞ்சேயாம்
    உற்றால் உறாஅ தவர்.
  • விளக்கம்
    மனமே! நாம் விரும்ப, நம்மை விரும்பாத அவர், நம்மை வெறுத்தார் என்று, நாமும் அவரைக் கைவிட முடியுமோ?
  • Translation
    in English
    O heart, as a foe, can I abandon utterly
    Him who, though I long for him, longs not for me?
  • Meaning
    O my soul! can he who loves not though he is beloved, be forsaken saying he hates me (now)?


Post a Comment