Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1244. கண்ணும் கொளச்சேறி நெஞ்சே

1244. Kannum Kolachcheri Nenje

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    இன்பத்துப்பால் (Inbaththuppaal) - Love
  • இயல்
    கற்பியல் (Karpiyal) - The Post-Marital Love
  • அதிகாரம்
    நெஞ்சோடு கிளத்தல் (Nenchodu Kilaththal)
  • குறள்
    கண்ணும் கொளச்சேறி நெஞ்சே இவையென்னைத்
    தின்னும் அவர்க்காணல் உற்று.
  • விளக்கம்
    மனமே! நீ அவரிடம் சென்றால் இக்கண்களையும் உடன் கொண்டு செல்; இக்கண்கள் அவரைக் காண விரும்பி எனைத் தின்பவை போல் வருத்துகின்றன.
  • Translation
    in English
    O rid me of these eyes, my heart; for they,
    Longing to see him, wear my life away.
  • Meaning
    O my soul! take my eyes also with you, (if not), these would eat me up (in their desire) to see him.


Post a Comment