Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1243. இருந்துள்ளி என்பரிதல் நெஞ்சே

1243. Irunthulli Enbarithal Nenje

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    இன்பத்துப்பால் (Inbaththuppaal) - Love
  • இயல்
    கற்பியல் (Karpiyal) - The Post-Marital Love
  • அதிகாரம்
    நெஞ்சோடு கிளத்தல் (Nenchodu Kilaththal)
  • குறள்
    இருந்துள்ளி என்பரிதல் நெஞ்சே பரிந்துள்ளல்
    பைதல்நோய் செய்தார்கண் இல்.
  • விளக்கம்
    மனமே! நீ இருந்து நினைத்து வருந்துவது ஏன்? இம்மிகுந்த நோய் செய்தவரிடத்தில் நம்மை நினைத்து வருந்தும் நன்மை இல்லையே!
  • Translation
    in English
    What comes of sitting here in pining thought, O heart? He knows
    No pitying thought, the cause of all these wasting woes.
  • Meaning
    O my soul! why remain (here) and suffer thinking (of him)? There are no lewd thoughts (of you) in him who has caused you this disease of sorrow.


Post a Comment