Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1242. காதல் அவரிலர் ஆகநீ

1242. Kaathal Avarilar Aaganee

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    இன்பத்துப்பால் (Inbaththuppaal) - Love
  • இயல்
    கற்பியல் (Karpiyal) - The Post-Marital Love
  • அதிகாரம்
    நெஞ்சோடு கிளத்தல் (Nenchodu Kilaththal)
  • குறள்
    காதல் அவரிலர் ஆகநீ நோவது
    பேதைமை வாழியென் நெஞ்சு.
  • விளக்கம்
    எனது மனமே! வாழ்வாயாக! அவர் ஆசையில்லாமளிருக்க, நீ அவரது வருகையை எதிர்பார்த்து வருந்துவது அறியாமை.
  • Translation
    in English
    Since he loves not, thy smart
    Is folly, fare thee well my heart!
  • Meaning
    May you live, O my soul! While he is without love, for you to suffer is (simple) folly.


Post a Comment