Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1178. பேணாது பெட்டார் உளர்மன்னோ

1178. Penaathu Pettaar Ularmanno

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    இன்பத்துப்பால் (Inbaththuppaal) - Love
  • இயல்
    கற்பியல் (Karpiyal) - The Post-Marital Love
  • அதிகாரம்
    கண்விதுப்பழிதல் (Kanvithuppazhithal)
    Eyes Consumed with Grief
  • குறள்
    பேணாது பெட்டார் உளர்மன்னோ மற்றவர்க்
    காணாது அமைவில கண்.
  • விளக்கம்
    காதலர் மனத்தால் விரும்பாதவராகிச் சொல்லால் மட்டும் விரும்புபவராய் இருக்கின்றார்; எனினும் கண்கள் அவரைக் காணாமல் பொறுமையுடன் இருக்க மாட்டா.
  • Translation
    in English
    Who loved me once, on loving now doth here remain;
    Not seeing him, my eye no rest can gain.
  • Meaning
    He is indeed here who loved me with his lips but not with his heart but mine eyes suffer from not seeing him.


Post a Comment