Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1179. வாராக்கால் துஞ்சா வரின்துஞ்சா

1179. Vaaraakkaal Thunchaa Varinthunchaa

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    இன்பத்துப்பால் (Inbaththuppaal) - Love
  • இயல்
    கற்பியல் (Karpiyal) - The Post-Marital Love
  • அதிகாரம்
    கண்விதுப்பழிதல் (Kanvithuppazhithal)
    Eyes Consumed with Grief
  • குறள்
    வாராக்கால் துஞ்சா வரின்துஞ்சா ஆயிடை
    ஆரஞர் உற்றன கண்.
  • விளக்கம்
    காதலர் வாராதொழிந்தாலும் தூங்க மாட்டா; வந்தாலும் தூங்கமாட்டா; அவ்விரு வழியிலும் என் கண்கள் பொறுத்தற்கரிய துன்பத்தை அடைந்துள்ளன.
  • Translation
    in English
    When he comes not, all slumber flies; no sleep when he is there;
    Thus every way my eyes have troubles hard to bear.
  • Meaning
    When he is away they do not sleep; when he is present they do not sleep; in either case, mine eyes endure unbearable agony.


Post a Comment