Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1177. உழந்துழந் துள்நீர் அறுக

1177. Uzhanthuzhanth Thulneer Aruga

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    இன்பத்துப்பால் (Inbaththuppaal) - Love
  • இயல்
    கற்பியல் (Karpiyal) - The Post-Marital Love
  • அதிகாரம்
    கண்விதுப்பழிதல் (Kanvithuppazhithal)
    Eyes Consumed with Grief
  • குறள்
    உழந்துழந் துள்நீர் அறுக விழைந்திழைந்து
    வேண்டி அவர்க்கண்ட கண்.
  • விளக்கம்
    முன்பு அவரைக் கண்டு விரும்பி, உருகி, இடைவிடாது பார்த்த கண்கள், இப்பொழுது அழுது அழுது வருந்தி நீர் வற்றிப் போகட்டும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Aching, aching, let those exhaust their stream,
    That melting, melting, that day gazed on him.
  • Meaning
    The eyes that became tender and gazed intently on him, may they suffer so much as to dry up the fountain of their tears.


Post a Comment