Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1166. இன்பம் கடல்மற்றுக் காமம்

1166. Inbam Kadalmatruk Kaamam

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    இன்பத்துப்பால் (Inbaththuppaal) - Love
  • இயல்
    கற்பியல் (Karpiyal) - The Post-Marital Love
  • அதிகாரம்
    படர்மெலிந் திரங்கல் (Padarmelindh Thirangal)
  • குறள்
    இன்பம் கடல்மற்றுக் காமம் அஃதடுங்கால்
    துன்பம் அதனிற் பெரிது.
  • விளக்கம்
    காதலால் வரும் இன்பம் கடல் போன்று பெரியது; அக்காமம் வருத்தம் செய்யும் போது அத்துன்பம் கடலைவிடப் பெரியது.
  • Translation
    in English
    A happy love 's sea of joy; but mightier sorrows roll
    From unpropitious love athwart the troubled soul.
  • Meaning
    The pleasure of lust is (as great as) the sea; but the pain of lust is far greater.


Post a Comment