Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1167. காமக் கடும்புனல் நீந்திக்

1167. Kamak Kadumpunal Neenthik

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    இன்பத்துப்பால் (Inbaththuppaal) - Love
  • இயல்
    கற்பியல் (Karpiyal) - The Post-Marital Love
  • அதிகாரம்
    படர்மெலிந் திரங்கல் (Padarmelindh Thirangal)
  • குறள்
    காமக் கடும்புனல் நீந்திக் கரைகாணேன்
    யாமத்தும் யானே உளேன்.
  • விளக்கம்
    காதலாகிய பெரிய கடலை நீந்தி அதன் கரையை யான் காணவில்லை; பாதி இரவிலும் யாதொரு துணையுமின்றி யான் தனிமையாக உள்ளேன்.
  • Translation
    in English
    I swim the cruel tide of love, and can no shore descry,
    In watches of the night, too, 'mid the waters, only I!
  • Meaning
    I have swam across the terrible flood of lust, but have not seen its shore; even at midnight I am alone; still I live.


Post a Comment