Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1127. கண்ணுள்ளார் காத லவராகக்

1127. Kannullaar Kaatha Lavaraagak

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    இன்பத்துப்பால் (Inbaththuppaal) - Love
  • இயல்
    களவியல் (Kalaviyal) - The Pre-Marital Love
  • அதிகாரம்
    காதற் சிறப்புரைத்தல் (Kaathar Sirappuraiththal)
    Declaration of Love's Special Excellence
  • குறள்
    கண்ணுள்ளார் காத லவராகக் கண்ணும்
    எழுதேம் கரப்பாக்கு அறிந்து.
  • விளக்கம்
    என் காதலர் எனது கண்ணுள் இருக்கின்றார் ஆதலால், அவர் மறைந்துவிடுவார் என்று அறிந்து, கண்ணுக்கு மை எழுத மாட்டேன்.
  • Translation
    in English
    My love doth ever in my eyes reside;
    I stain them not, fearing his form to hide.
  • Meaning
    As my lover abides in my eyes, I will not even paint them, for he would (then) have to conceal himself.


Post a Comment