Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1126. கண்ணுள்ளின் போகார் இமைப்பின்

1126. Kannullin Pogaar Imaippin

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    இன்பத்துப்பால் (Inbaththuppaal) - Love
  • இயல்
    களவியல் (Kalaviyal) - The Pre-Marital Love
  • அதிகாரம்
    காதற் சிறப்புரைத்தல் (Kaathar Sirappuraiththal)
    Declaration of Love's Special Excellence
  • குறள்
    கண்ணுள்ளின் போகார் இமைப்பின் பருகுவரா
    நுண்ணியர்எம் காத லவர்.
  • விளக்கம்
    என் காதலர் எனது கண்களை விட்டு எப்பொழுதும் வெளியே செல்லார்; அவர் அங்கு இருப்பதை மறந்து இமை கொட்டினேனாயினும் அவர் வருந்த மாட்டார்; அவர் அதிக நுட்பமானவர்.
  • Translation
    in English
    My loved one's subtle form departs not from my eyes;
    I wink them not, lest I should pain him where he lies.
  • Meaning
    My lover would not depart from mine eyes; even if I wink, he would not suffer (from pain); he is so ethereal.


Post a Comment